National Certificate in Financial Services (Financial Advice) (Level 5) Assessment only

Qualification code NC147601

This Certificate is a nationally recognised qualification for people in the financial services sector who are working or seeking work as a financial adviser, and who specialise in investment advice, insurance advice or residential property lending advice. The National Certificate in Financial Services will give you the knowledge and skills you need to meet the legal requirements to provide financial advice.

Further information on whether these legal requirements apply to you can be found on the Financial Markets Authority. We also recommend you visit The Skills Organisation to find out more about the competency requirements. The Skills Organisation is the Industry Training Organisation for the financial services industry.

For more information download the brochure below or request a brochure to be sent to you. If you have any questions please contact us.


Download brochure
Financial Services (1.6 MB PDF)

What you need to know about this qualification

Study options

The Assessment Only option of this qualification is for people who believe they have the knowledge needed to pass these courses without completing any study. 

You will have 13 weeks from the date your enrolment is confirmed to complete each unit standard.

If you don't have the knowledge required to take the assessment only option, you can study towards the qualification by enrolling in NC1476 National Certificate in Financial Services (Financial Advice) (Level 5) 

Key dates

Our open courses are open for enrolment every month. Each open course starts on the first Monday of the month you choose for enrolment. You must complete your study within the given start and end dates.

See key enrolment dates

Assessment and exam

Sets A, D and E

You will be assessed by Open Polytechnic through paper based and/or online tests.

Sets B and C

The assessment only version does not apply to these sets as they are assessed either by The Skills Organisation or a delegated assessment organisation. Please visit The Skills Organisation's website for more information and to register for assessment.

Note: Assessment for unit standards in sets B and C will incur an additional fee payable directly to The Skills Organisation or the delegated assessment organisation.

The Skills Organisation

Courses you could do in this qualification

For information about selecting courses to study towards this qualification, check out the Choose courses tab.

You must read the information provided within the Qualification Structure table, which details the order in which courses must be studied to complete a valid qualification.

Related qualifications